My Second Family

The following is a testimonial from a parent who has been a long-time participant of FamilyWorks’ Teen Parent Program.

The Teen Parent Program promotes the positive growth of teen parents by facilitating peer support groups, offering parenting classes/workshops, offering home visitations, as well as by providing one-on-one advocacy, guidance, encouragement, and support.

It’s clear that for this parent the program was a safe place, where her family could grow and thrive.

 

“I am a participant in FamilyWorks’ Teen Parent Program. I like to joke that I am the longest attending member. I have been part of the Teen Parent Program since the age of 13. I was pregnant then, and very, very young. Now 10 years later, I look back and think about the second family I have created with Gladys and the moms.

It’s hard to be a parent, especially as a teen. I was fortunate enough to be connected with Gladys and the group from the beginning, but I stop and think about the other mothers. Moms that struggle to find a place to live, to make ends meet, to be positive in life. The Teen Parent Program has created a place in which I feel that I belong, to know I am not alone in this journey.

If we want people in our community to do good, they need to feel good about themselves. As a teen parent, I was very insecure about my skills, and abilities to be a fit parent. Having a support network of other young mothers, helped me understand that I have a place where people value my presence and ideas.

“The Teen Parent Program has created a place in which I feel that I belong, to know I am not alone in this journey.”

There have been many memories that we have created as a group, fieldtrips, workshops, crying and support from one another. I have learned so much from Gladys, guest speakers, and the moms. I am 23 now, and aging out of the program this year. I will continue to be a part of the group as a volunteer.

FamilyWorks and the Teen Parent Program have impacted my life, the life of my son, as well as the other moms that have been a part of this program by providing a safe space for mothers like me. I feel so fortunate that I didn’t have to take this journey alone.”

 

*You can support the Teen Parent Program, and all of FamilyWorks’ services, by making a donation during GiveBIG. When you make a donation during GiveBIG (now through May 10th) your donation will be matched! Click here to “GiveBIG” and support vital resources like the Teen Parent Program.*

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “My Second Family

  1. Friend, There is the formal law and the moral law. I don’t approve but can’t condemn all of Wa;i2&#8h17ls behaviour. Newmont with their activites on and off the minesite may have violated the latter. Let’s not forget the ethnicity of most Newmont executives and what hobbies such people have.Achmad.

Leave a Reply

